greenspun.com : LUSENET : Catholic : One Thread

what is the hierarchy at the catholic church?

-- lior nobel (liornobel@yahoo.com), August 03, 1999


Lior - I would think almost any good library would have a book giving it all on this question. +Peace+

-- jean bouchardRC (jeanb@cwk.imag.netj), August 04, 1999.

If you want to have a brief idea of the Catholic Roman Church's hierarchy, I will give you a very simple one. First you have the pope, followed by the cardinals and archibishops, bishops, canons, parish priests, vicars, deacons and baptised people. And it have religious people ( monks, nones,friar and sisters).

-- Mickael Bouffard (chantal.bouffard@videotron.ca), October 03, 1999.

Thanks for that answer.

Put even more simply, the hierarchy of the Catholic Church is exactly the same as that of the Church as described in the New Testament.

In the New Testament you have episcopoi (bishops) of which St. Peter is the head. Then you have presbuteroi (presbyters/priests). Then you have diakonoi (deacons). Then you have the laity.

It's exactly the same today in the Catholic Church. Bishops, of which the successor of St. Peter--the pope--has the primacy, priests, deacons and laity.

-- David Palm (djpalm64@yahoo.com), October 05, 1999.

Moderation questions? read the FAQ