Is Street Photography Dead? : LUSENET : Dirck Halstead : One Thread

Some of the greatest images ever made were candids of people or crowds taken in public places--sometimes referred to as street photography. Look at the work of Robert Frank, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Garry Winogrand to see brilliant examples of this kind of work. But that was then...these days, with the possible exception of some types of PhotoJ, it seems that street photography isn't as popular as it once was. Galleries rarely show it, instead concentrating on more introspective, controlled (and, some say, contrived) work. Why has there been a shift away from this form of photography?

Everyone is invited to PhotoHighway's live chat auditorium on Tuesday, Dec. 22 at 1:30pm Pacific time (US)--that's 4:30pm EST and 9:30pm GMT--for a live, unmoderated chat about street photography. A number of practicing street photographers are expected, as well as critics who feel this kind of shooting is no longer relevant. I think the perspective of working pro photojournalists would be a welcome addition to the chat.

Please join us in the auditorium, for what promises to be a fascinating hour!

Cheers, Mason Resnick Community Manager

-- Mason Resnick (, December 17, 1999


Mason, Street photography is by no means dead. Have you seen the work of Bruce Gilden? As far as Im concerned he is one of the best "street" photographers working today.


Moderation questions? read the FAQ