greenspun.com : LUSENET : A Country Singletree : One Thread

Hi my name is Trina, I am a 40 year old single mom, (ok well she is pretty much grown now) I have a 19 year old DD. I live in Southern Oregon, on a few acres about 15 miles out of Medford. I had some reservations about posting here but I am single and I do like the thought of bouncing ideas off others that are homesteading by themselves. I have 4 big dogs that really dont contribute other than making me feel safe, Most people dont come through a fence when they have 300 lbs worth of mutts running up at them..... even if they are big babies lol.... I have alway loved animals and usually have quite a few more than I do right now... Last year I bottle raised 3 little doelings hope to breed and get babies and milk this year. I want to use the milk besides for drinking, for trying out cheesemaking and I also make soaps and lotions using it. In a month or so I will order some chickens Im leaning towards Buff orphingtons(sp) as they are supposed to be good layers and rather meaty...and along with those will raise a few turkeys for the freezer.. I usually raise a small garden this year I hope to increase it and can the extras.... I enjoy quilting, soapmaking,reading, I am interested also in spinning and knitting but havent gotten there yet..I have enjoyed reading the introductions on here.. and look forward to getting to know you all a bit better.... and if you have made it to the end of this longwinded book, thanks for reading it lol

-- Trina (trina@ccountry.net), January 30, 2002


Glad to see you. If you have reservations about posting here out of safety concerns, feel free to email me privately and I can give you links to internet safe surfing info sites. If you have reservations about the bio in general, just read mine and try not to laugh too hard :>) Hope you like the board and look forward to your posts here.

-- Jay Blair in N. AL (jayblair678@yahoo.com), January 30, 2002.

I knit and spin so I would be happy to be a source of encouragement. Actually this weekend our guild is giving a spinning, knitting fiber demo at the local historical museum.

A good friend used to live outside of Medford on th Umpqua(sp) river. She used to breed and raise dogs. She moved to New Hampshire several years back.

Welcome! Susan

-- Susan in Minnesota (nanaboo@paulbunyan.net), January 30, 2002.

Trina, COOL, all the stuff you do. I just hope I am as well versed in so many things. I have GOT to keep this computer when I go off grid in the spring. I will miss you all so much if I don't. Anyway, welcome, and check out Countryside Forum and the barter board if you haven't already. Also, dogs are always useful just like you indicate, especially for a lone woman. Without a gun totein' man around with wiskers and muscles who else would speak up for us? It's a scary world out there beyond the property line and my dogs are the best guardians I could ever want (except for a man of course!). You make me want to call my sheep raisin' buddy and ask when she's gonna shear. I have helped her a couple of times and am ready to do it again. What fun! Straddle that ewe and wait in line for the shearer person. Can't wait. Hope someday to have my own Icelandics. Lovely ladies those Icelandics! Ta ta,

-- Susan in Northern Michigan (cobwoman@yahoo.com), February 01, 2002.

My name is michihiko Takeuchi.may be 40year old ,From Japan Fukuoka kyushu Iland. I,m looking for my special Frend 20 year ago.Do you know Trina Hunt? are you ? IF ,IF you remenber me ,Please Call Back to me MY Address

-- Takeuchi Michihiko (takeuchimch@chugai-pharm.co.jp), April 16, 2002.

Moderation questions? read the FAQ